current base wardrobe

I love a good base. Give me a foundation or tinted moisturizer any day. I have quite a few in my makeup collection so sometimes I find it hard to stick to just one, but lately I have found myself reaching for four specific ones. Two tinted moisturizers and two foundations because, I mean, I have to keep it fair and equal.

DSCN0481

The base that I have found myself reaching for the most has got to be the Jouer Matte Moisture Tint in Hazel. I’m predicting that is going to be my most used base during the summer. The color match could not be better. It blends in so seamlessly to leave a barely there finish. It looks like my skin, but better. It’s not a light base, but it is lighter than others that I own. I would say it is a good medium coverage and could probably be built up, although that is not my thing. I prefer to let some imperfections show through. Even though it says it is a matte tint, it still has some luminosity to it. One of the best things about this is that it stays on for hours. I work in the sun serving food and at the end of the day, it is still there. Even with all these good things about the moisture tint, the bummer is that it is not available in stores. At least not any immediate store to most people, so it is a bit hard to figure out your shade and if the texture is something you would like. On the shade dilemma, I goggled shade swatches and it was very helpful.

Another tinted moisturizer that has taken up residence on my face is the NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer in Medium/Dark 1. This is another tinted moisturizer that is a bit on the matte side. It leaves a satin like finish that is just lovely. It is the one that I would say I reach for the most on a daily basis because it is just so easy to throw on. It goes blends in so easily and paired with the NARS Creamy Concealer, it creates such a great base. Like the JOUER Matte Moisture Tint it lasts pretty much all day. Out of all four of my currents favorites, the NARS tinted moisturizers offer the largest range of shades, so there is pretty much something for everyone.

One foundation that I have heard so much great things about is the Jemma Kidd Light As Air Foundation. I’ve heard the it has a dream formula, texture, and finish. And I am here to say that everything is true. The consistency is a bit thin, but it makes for easy application. The foundation just kind of seems to disappear into the skin to cover everything that needs to be covered without making you look cakey. It is super light on the face making it feel like you have nothing on. It is the perfect mixture of dewy and matte. The only con I would have to say about this is that it is very hard to find. I’m pretty sure the reason for this is because Jemma Kid has been discontinued. I found my shade on BeautyBar’s website, but they only stock the two darkest shades. I say if you find the shade you are looking for, scoop it up.

The last foundation that I have been reaching for is one that I have wanted to so long. I used to not want to shell out the $44 that came along with owning it, but decided to just go for it since I had already bought so many other high end bases. It’s the Chanel Vitalumiere AquaI’m so so happy that I did. It is the lightest foundation that I own, making the perfect no makeup makeup base. You can use your fingers or a brush to blend this in, making it a perfect travel base. That, and it’s compact packaging. And to add to all the beautiful things about this, it smells lovely, just like all Chanel products.

What are some of your favorite bases?

Oh and did I mention I love bases? I just purchased the NARS Sheer Glow foundation. Did I need another foundation? No. But it’s a great add to the collection. I’ll check back in with my thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

