favorite cream eyeshadows

I wear eyeshadow almost everyday. I like just doing a quick sweep of color on my lids to brighten up my mostly neutral makeup. I love a good powder eyeshadow, with my favorite one being from the NARS Cordura Duo, but a lot of the time I find that a cream eyeshadow does the job just as easy and it stays on quite long. You can do so much with cream eyeshadow, from just using a single layer and leaving it at that to using a base for a smokey eye. In my collection I have four that I use to create either look. They are the four that I reach for the most.

DSCN0439

DSCN0472

The first one up is the Clinique Chubby Stick Shadow Tint for Eyes in Fuller Fudge. This is probably the simplest eyeshadow to throw on. There is no brush needed which means you can just throw it in your makeup bag and take it with you. Perfect for traveling. It’s a beautiful bronze color that isn’t sparkly at all. It looks natural on the lids which allows you to be a little more adventurous on the lips or cheeks. You don’t need to sharpen it because it is a twist up, so there’s no need to carry around a sharpener. I love this not only for the color and convenience, but it is also very hygienic and sanitary. You don’t have to dip your fingers into a pot and worry about germs.

The second shadow stick I love is the Rimmel Scandaleyes Eye Shadow Stick in Bad Girl Bronze. This is absolutely, hands down one of my favorite eyeshadows ever and one of my favorite drugstore finds. It is the standout from the Rimmel Shadow Stick collection in my opinion. I tend to just throw this on all over the lids and under the eyes with a dark brown in the crease for definition to create the perfect Mary Kate and Olsen inspired smokey eye. I love that it is a red tinged bronze so it adds a little more dimension than a typical bronze. It also works great as an eyeliner. I also really love the price tag. Unlike the other cream shadows that I own, I don’t feel bad about using it everyday. This is definitely a product that I will continue to repurchase.

Now to the traditional cream shadows that come housed in little pots. Let’s start with the Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Cream Eyeshadow in Shimmering Bronze. If there ever was a perfect smokey eye bronze color, this is it. Whenever I want a dark, yet bronzy smokey eye that is intense, this is what I reach for. Just look at that. It’s amazing. It glides on like butter and it really does stay on. It does not budge once it has dried. It is very easy to blend out so it works for a one color simple smokey eye, but also looks fantastic paired with a dark brown or black in the crease and then the Bobbi Brown eyeliner in Black Coffee on the lash line. You can use this as a base and layer a powder shadow on top to add more dimension, but I personally like it alone. The only issue I have with this is that the pot is tiny, so it is hard to get your finger in and get product out.

Finally, the one that started it all. Smashbox Limitless 15 Hour Wear Cream Eyeshadow in Icon. This was the first cream eyeshadow that I purchased and I haven’t regretted once. I like this for the same reason I like the Clinique. It is a very simple color and product to just throw on, add some mascara and run out the door. Minimal blending with your ring finger required. It is also another great smokey eye color. I love pairing this with MAC Brown Down, Embark or Handwritten in the crease for a dark eye. You really only need a small amount of this on your finger to blend out as it is so pigmented. The pot is also quite large giving you a lot of bang for your buck.

Now I’m sure I’ll add more to my collection that I will just fall in love with (Benefit Busy Signal, I’m coming for you) so I will just have to keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

